La Vie Extraordinaire

Bonjour! It was so long ago when I last scrawled upon this blog space that I nearly locked myself out of my account. The reason for my long absence was multifactorial. For starters… I went to PARIS!

OUI! I did it! And it was INCROYABLE! Sometimes, English vocabulary is insufficient to express the dramatic language of the human heart. I couldn’t begin to describe my amazing Parisian experience. It was my first trip out of the country since 2014; it was my first healthy trip abroad in years. It marked such a turning point in my physical, psychological, and emotional growth that when I returned, my dietician remarked, “I don’t think you need to see me anymore!” (To which I gasped in mock-horror, “Nooooo! Please don’t send me away!” I came to cherish not only her dietetic feedback, but her wit and humor. We compromised with less frequent visits.) I returned to the U.S. full of a newfound confidence and eager to plan my next adventure. (Here I come, Prague and Poland – 2018!)

While I still find myself confronting issues related to food and body image (who doesn’t in our society?), I am not the same person that I was when I started writing this blog. It is difficult to think back to my life at the time when I began this little project. It seems so long ago! My “recovery” is not as much an active process and the focus of conscientious effort as it is an automatic and routine part of my daily life. This shift is fantastic! But, it doesn’t make for very interesting reading. Moreover, as I spend less time thinking about “recovery,” I am able to devote more time to cultivating a life that is brimming with other interests and activities. I am still writing daily. For now, though, my writing is for myself. At some future date, I hope to return to this blog with a fresh perspective and new ideas. Perhaps it will be in a few weeks, or a few months, or a year. Perhaps, I will post sporadically, with less frequency, about more varied topics that interest me. In the meantime, I am exploring this adventure in becoming me.

Thank you so, so much for being with me on this journey. I wish you all well on your own life adventures. Adieu for now!

IMG_2840
The Eiffel Tower, 10pm on May 21st, 2017. I waited years to watch these sparkles up close. There was a time when I thought I might not ever see them in person. It turns out that I am capable of much more than I know!
4 thoughts on “La Vie Extraordinaire

  1. I’m SO happy for you Lulu! You’ve come so far, and you’re amazing. How wonderful to be at this point in your recovery. I think it’s great you’re working on yourself, on your interests and passions. Sounds like you’re in for a lot of fun and adventure. Glad you really enjoyed Paris. Such a beautiful city! I’ll miss you not being here on a regular basis. Take care and enjoy! Jenny xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh Lulu, it’s so wonderful to see your post. I have been worried about you and wanted to work out if there was a way I could message you on here! I’m so pleased that you’re doing so well and had a wonderful time in Paris. Hope to read your posts again xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

